Return to NETSTATE.COM home page.

Alaska State Flag Alaska

Former State Governors

1959-1966 William Allen Egan Democrat Born at Valdez, October 8, 1914. Died May 6, 1984.
1966-1969 Walter Joseph "Wally" Hickel Republican Born at Ellinwood, Kansas, August 18, 1919.
1969-1970 Keith Harvey Miller Republican Born at Seattle, Washington, March 1, 1925.
1970-1974 William Allen Egan Democrat Re-elected after four years out of office - Born at Valdez, October 8, 1914. Died May 6, 1984.
1974-1982 Jay Sterner Hammond Republican Born at Troy, New York, July 21, 1922.
1982-1986 William Jennings "Bill" Sheffield Democrat Born in Spokane, Washington, June 26, 1928.
1986-1990 Steve Camberling Cowper Democrat Born August 21, 1938.
1990-1994 Walter Joseph "Wally" Hickel Alaskan Independence Born in Ellinwood, Kansas, August 18, 1919.
1994-2002 Tony Knowles Democrat Born in Tulsa, Oklahoma, January 1, 1943. Mayor of Anchorage, 1982-1987.
2002-2006 Frank H. Murkowski Republican Born March 28, 1933 in Seattle, Washington and raised in Ketchikan, Alaska. Served in U.S. Senate for 22 years begining in 1980.
2006-2009 Sarah Louise Palen Republican Born February 11, 1964 in Sandpoint, Idaho. Moved to Alaska as an infant and grew up in Wasilla. Resigned, effective July 26, 2009, citing ethics investigations as detrimental to the state
2009-2014 Sean Parnell Republican Born November 19, 1962 in Hanford, California. Moved, with family to Anchorage, Alaska in 1973. Served two terms in the Alaska House of Representatives (1993 to 1997) and one term in the Alaska Senate (1997 to 2001). Running mate to Sarah Palin's 2006 gubernatorial campaign, Parnell served as Lieutenant Governor from 2006 to July, 2009. Sworn in as Governor on July 26, 2009 upon Sarah Palin's resignation. Won a full term as Governor in the 2010 election, but lost to Bill Walker in the 2014 campaign.


Source:, (, April 7, 2004


Site designed exclusively for NETSTATE.COM by NSTATE
United States Flag

NETSTATE.COM is a Trademark of NSTATE, LLC.
Copyright 2003- by NSTATE, LLC. All rights reserved.
No copyright is claimed on non-original or licensed material.